Culinology

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental two-volume work encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

IFIS has been producing quality comprehensive information for the world’s food science, food technology and nutrition community since its foundation in 1968 and, through its production of FSTA – Food Science and Technology Abstracts, has earned a worldwide reputation for excellence. (Author Information, http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyTitle/productCd-1405187409.html)

Covers a variety of American food topics, including history, geography, ethnic and cultural cuisines, food staples, cooked and processed foods, drinks and beverages, preparing, serving, and distributing food, meals and eating customs, and so on. Includes photographs, sidebars, and reprints of old advertisements where appropriate. Easy to read and accessible information.

This has the most comprehensive coverage of food and nutrition on Dominican's shelves. Offering over 1,000 articles authored by an international group of contributors, the encyclopedia covers an A-Z list, from "Acceptability of Food" to "Zoonoses." Clearly organized and fully indexed.

This dictionary explores the relationship between the literal and the nonliteral (idiomatic and metaphorical) language of the cooking and eating of food. Each entry contains a description of the historical background of each of the two types of language, and the works that record the terms.