Skip to main content

History 300: Academic Journal Articles

Library Resources for History 300

Using Articles

• Reorder your search results to see the newest articles first, or use the date limit feature to find articles from different decades.

• Use the Cited References and/or Times Cited features to trace your topic backwards and forwards in the scholarly conversation.

• Print journals from before 1970 are kept in storage.  Just ask the reference librarian to retrieve them for you.
 

Journal Title Abbreviations

Journal titles are often abbreviated in citations and reference lists.  To find the full name of the journal, use this site from the University of Leeds.

Find Research Articles on Your Topic

Getting the Full Text

If the database you are searching contains the full text of the article you need, you will see links to the PDF and/or HTML full text.

If the database you are searching does not contain the full text of the article you need, look for a link that says "Find full text in other databases." This link launches Citation Linker. Citation Linker will check all of Dominican's other databases for the full text.

If the full text is available in another database, Citation Linker will automatically take you to that database.

If the full text is only available in print, Citation Linker will tell you.  Print journals are on the lower level of the library.

If no full text is available, you will be linked to Illiad, where you can create an account and request the article from another library.  Requests are free and usually take 7-10 days to arrive in your Illiad account.

Use ILLiad to Get Full-Text Articles

You can create an Illiad account to get articles to which Dominican does not have access. Watch this video for instructions on how to request a journal article that is not readily available in the library databases. You should allow at least one week for delivery to your email/Illiad account.