Skip to main content

Citation Styles: Chicago/Turabian

Chicago/ Turabian Examples and Bibliography Rules

The Chicago/ Turabian Citation Style

Chicago style is used by many different disciplines. The arts and humanities use the Notes Bibliography System (NB) and the social sciences use the Author Date System. 

Download these pages in printable format. Humanities Version (NB):  PDF

Sciences Version (AD):PDF 

This guide provides examles for the most common sources and general notes on bibliographies. For a more detailed citation guide see the Purdue OWL.

Citation Examples:

Scholarly Journal Articles

For an article accessed through a library database or through the Web, include a URL. If the article is paginated, include a page number in the parenthetical citation and a page range in the reference list.  For unpaginated articles, you may include a "locator," such as a numbered paragraph, instead of a page number.  The locator follows the word under in your citation. 

Basic Format for Reference List: 

Author.  Year. Title of article. Title of Journal Volume, no.: Pages. URL. 

Example of Reference List: 

Giersch, Anne, and Virginie Rhein. 2009. Lack of flexibility in visual grouping in patients with 

schizophrenia.  Journal of Abnormal Psychology 117 no. 1: 132-42. 

http://web.ebscohost.com. 

Example of Parenthetical Citation: 

(Giersch and Rhein 2009, 139) 

 

Magazine & Newspaper Articles

For an article accessed through a library database or through the Web, include a URL. If the article is paginated, include a page number in the parenthetical citation and a page range in the reference list.  For unpaginated articles, you may include a "locator," such as a numbered paragraph, instead of a page number.  The locator follows the word under in your citation. 

Page numbers are not necessary for newspaper and magazine articles in the reference list.  Use a section letter or number, if available.  For an unsigned article, use the magazine or newspaper title in place of the author. 

Basic Format for Reference List: 

Author. Year. Title of article. Title of Magazine, Month Day. URL. 

Example of Reference List: 

Newsweek. 2009. Iran and America: An intersecting history. June 1. 

http://web.ebscohost.com. 

Example of Parenthetical Citation: 

(Newsweek 2009, 38) 

Book Reviews

For a review accessed through a library database or through the Web, include a URL. If the review is paginated, include a page number in the parenthetical citation and a page range in the reference list.  For unpaginated reviews, you may include a "locator," such as a numbered paragraph, instead of a page number.  The locator follows the word under in your citation. 

Basic format for Reference List: 

Author. Year. Review of Title of book, by Book Author. Title of Periodical Volume, no.: Pages. 

Example of Reference List: 

Taub, Richard P. 2004. Review of R eclaiming public housing: A half-century of struggle in three 

public neighborhoods, by Lawrence J. Vale. American Journal of Sociology 

110, no. 3: 797-99. 

Example of Parenthetical Citation: 

(Taub 2004) 

 

Books

Basic Format for Reference List: 

Author. Year. Title of book. Place of Publication: Publisher. 

Example of Reference List: 

Pollen, Michael. 2006. The omnivore’s dilemma: A natural history of four meals. New York: 

Penguin Press. 

Example of Parenthetical Citation: 

(Pollen 2006, 75) 

 

Part of a Book (Such as an Essay in a Collection)

Basic Format for Reference List: 

Author. Year. Title of essay. In Title of collection, ed. by Editor Name, Pages of Essay. 

Publication Place: Publisher. 

Example of Reference List: 

Demos, John. 2001. Real lives and other fictions: Reconsidering Wallace Stegner’s “Angle of 

repose.” In Novel history: Historians and novelists confront America’s past (and 

each other)
, ed. Mark C. Carnes, 132-45. New York: Simon and Schuster.   

Example of Parenthetical Citation: 

(Demos 2001, 141) 

 

Web Sites

For sites without an author per se, use the publishing organization in place of the author. 

Basic Format for Bibliography: 

Author. Title of web site.  Publishing Organization or Name of Web Site. URL. 

Example of Bibliography: 

Dominican University. Rosary College of Arts & Sciences. http//www.dom.edu/ 

academics/bsb/index.htm. 

Example of Parenthetical Reference: 

(Dominican University) 

Bibliography Rules

• Each time you refer to one of your sources in the text of your paper, cite the source with a parenthetical citation that includes the author, publication year and page number: (Author Year, Page.) 


• Parenthetical citations for direct quotations are inserted immediately after the quotation preceding a comma or period.  After block quotations, though, the citation is inserted after the period.  Otherwise, parenthetical citations are inserted at the end of a clause or sentence before the period. 

• Also, include a list of all your sources.  Start the list on a separate page at the end of your paper under the label References. 

• Alphabetize the reference list by the first word in each entry (usually the author’s last name.)  Single-space all entries, with double-spacing between entries.  Make the first line of each entry flush with the margin.  Subsequent lines in each entry should be indented one-half inch. 
  
• Capitalize only the first letter of the first word of a book, article or web page title, the first word after a color or dash in the title, and proper nouns.  Capitalize all major words in periodical titles. 

• In a reference list entry for a source with 2 or more authors, invert (last name first) only the first author’s name.  List all authors in the reference; do not use et al

• In a parenthetical citation for a source with 4 or more authors, list only the first author's name followed byet al

• Access dates for online sources are not required, but you should include an access date after the URL if the source is time-sensitive (like a news site)and/or if your instructor requires it. 


This page was adapted from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue (http://owl.english.purdue.edu) and from Helen Long's (Dominican University) Turabian handout

Further Help with Chicago Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition. You will find this resource behind the reference desk on hte first floor of the library. This is a non-circulating resource. 

This is a circulating resource available on the second floor under the call number Z253 .U69 2003