Skip to main content

Citation Styles: MLA

MLA Citation Examples and Works Cited Rules

Preparing a Works Cited List in MLA Style

General Formatting

  • Begin your works cited list on a separate page at the end of your document under the label Works Cited.  Put the label at the center top of the page.  Do not italicize, underline or use quotations marks in the label.
  • Alphabetize the list of works cited by the first word in each entry (usually the author's last name.)
  • Make the first line of each entry in your list flush with the margin.  Subsequent lines in each entry should be indented one-half inch.  This is known as a hanging indent.
  • Double space all entries, with no skipped spaces between entries.
  • Capitalize each word in the titles, but do not capitalize articles (the, an), prepositions, or conjunctions unless one is the first word of the title or subtitle: Gone with the Wind, The Compleat Angler, To Kill a Mockingbird.  
  • For works with 2 - 3 authors, the first author that appears on the title page is listed first in the citation as Lastname, Firstname.  Subsequent authors are listed after "[first author], and" as Firstname Lastname.
  • For works with more than 3 authors, include only the first name that appears on the title page, followed by a comma and "et al."
  • For online sources, MLA recommends that the citation include where you found your source.  Use the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if provided by the database; otherwise, use the URL or Permalink (delete “http://” or “https://” from the URL). However, if your professor prefers that you not include the URL, you should follow your professor's directions.
  • For online sources, including the date of access is optional.  Follow your professor's directions in this regard.
  • Dates (such as the “Date of Publication") should use the Day Month Year format.

 

Basic Formats & Examples

Articles in Online Library Databases

Scholarly Articles in Online Library Databases:

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname.   "Title of Article."  Title of Journal, volume, issue, Date of Publication, pages.  

     Title of Database, DOI or URL.  Date of Access.

  Example:

    Giersch, Anne, and Virginie Rhein. "Lack of Flexibility in Visual Grouping in Patients with

Schizophrenia." Journal of Abnormal Psychology, vol. 117, no. 1, Feb. 2008, pp. 132-142.

PsychInfo, doi: 10.1037/0021-843X.117.1.132.  Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
 

 Newspaper & Magazine Articles in Online Databases:

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname.  "Title of Article."  Title of Periodical, volume (if provided), issue (if provided), Date of 

     Publication, pages.  Title of Database, URL.  Date of Access.

Example:

"Iran and America: An Intersecting History."  Newsweek, 1 June 2009, pp. 29-52.  Academic

Search Premier, web.ebscohost.com.  Accessed 3 Dec. 2015.  


Articles in Print

Scholarly Articles in Print

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname.   "Title of Article."  Title of Journal, volume, issue, Date of Publication, pages.

Example:

Green, Samuel Swett. "Personal Relations between Librarians and Readers.” Library

Journal, vol. 118, no. 11, June 1993, pp. 74-81.
 

Magazine & Newspaper Articles in Print

If there is more than one edition available for the date of the newspaper, include the edition after the date of publication.  If the newspaper is a less well-known publication, include the city name in brackets after the title of the newspaper.  

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname.  "Title of Article."  Title of Periodical, Date of Publication, pages.

Example:

Caplan, Jeremy.  "Trying to Make a Decent Living."  Time, 26 June 2006, pp. 56-58.

 

Books

  Basic Format:

    Lastname, Firstname.  Title of Book.  Publisher, Year of Publication.

  Example:

     Pollan, Michael.  The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals.  Penguin Press, 2006. 

 

eBooks

  Basic Format:

    Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.  Name of Database, URL.  

     Date of access.

  Example:

    Verner, Dorte.  The Impact of the Euro on Latin America.  World Bank Publications, 2000.  eBook

    Collection (EBSCOhost), dom.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?

     direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=33326&site=ehost-live&scope=site.  Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.  

 

One Essay or Chapter Within an Edited Book (different essays or chapters have different authors)

Basic Format:

    Lastname, Firstname.  "Title of Essay."  Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Name(s), Publisher, 

   Year of Publication, pages.  


Example:

   Flam, Jack.  "Bonnard in the History of Twentieth-Century Art."  Pierre Bonnard: The Late Still

   Lifes and Interiors, edited by Dita Amory, Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2009, pp. 47-60.

 

Web Site (Entire Site)

Basic Format:

    Editor, author, or compiler name (if available).  Name of Site, Name of

    institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), date of

    resource creation (if available), URL.  Date of Access.  

Example:

     Brennan School of Business.  Dominican University, 2009, 

   www.dom.edu/academics/bsb/index.htm.  Accessed 7 Dec. 2009.  

 

Part of a Web Site (Such as One Page Within the Site)

If the publisher is the same as the website name, list it only once.

Basic Format:

     Editor, author, or compiler name (if available).  "Title of Page."  Name of Site,

   Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), 

   Date of resource creation (if available), URL.  Date of Access.

Example:

"Paying for Graduate School: Financial Aid for Grad Students."  eHow, 

   gradschool.about.com/od/financialaid/Financial_Aid.htm.  Accessed 8 Dec. 2009.

 

Article in a Web Scholarly Journal

Basic Format:

 Lastname, Firstname.   "Title of Article."  Title of Journal, volume, issue, Date of Publication, 

                       Page Range of Entry (if available), URL.  Date of Access.  

Example:

 Wheelis, Mark.  "Investigating Disease Outbreaks under a Protocol to the Biological and Toxin

  Weapons Convention."  Emerging Infectious Diseases, vol. 6, no. 6, Dec. 2000, 

  pp. 595-600, www.cdc.gov/ncidod/eid/vol6no6/wheelis.htm.  Accessed 8 Feb. 2009.

 

Article in a Web Magazine

Basic Format:

 Lastname, Firstname.  "Title of Article."  Title of Magazine, Date of Publication,  URL.  

  Date of Access.  

Example:

 Beaird, Jason.  "Cooking with Stock."  Digital Web Magazine, 9 Sept. 2008, 

  www.digital-web.com/articles/cooking_with_stock.  Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.   

 

For more help, including citing sources not listed here, in-text citations and formatting your entire document, please see the following:

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/

MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition, 2016.  


Library Reference Desk

Hours: Mon-Thu 9am-9pm; Fri 9am-5pm; Sat 1pm-5pm; Sun 12pm-9pm

Chat: http://www.dom.edu/library/research

Phone: 708-524-6875

Text: 708-689-9524

Email: reference@dom.edu

MLA Additional Resources

 

This resource is available behind the reference desk.

It is a non-circulating resource.