Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Ernest Hemingway Conference: Additional Resources

XVII Biennial International Ernest Hemingway Conference

Oak Park Public Library Resources

Special Collections: Ernest Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway and his family lived in Oak Park. The Oak Park Public Library has acquired first editions, correspondence, and high school essays.

  • Ernest Hemingway High School Essay Collection: Essays written by Ernest Hemingway while he was a student at Oak Park River Forest High School.
  • Ernest Hemingway Library Correspondence: Correspondence to and from Oak Park Public Library.
  • Ernest Hemingway Rare Book Collection: Rare editions of Ernest Hemingway and criticisms of his work.
  • Ernest Hemingway Ephemera Collection: Binders of photographs, early correspondence and artifacts.

The Ongoing Hacking Hemingway Project

“Hacking Hemingway: Cracking the Code to the Vault” is a digital history project and "collection for the world" that will give unprecedented access to rare archives from both the Ernest Hemingway Foundation of Oak Park, and the library, thanks to an $86,000 grant from the Illinois Secretary of Stat and State Librarian Jesse White. Archive items made digital will be viewable in the Illinois Digital Archives, which is open to everyone.  

Newberry Library Resources

William Horne-Ernest Hemingway Papers, 1913-1985

Mainly correspondence, most of which relates to Ernest Hemingway. There are eleven letters from Hemingway, two from Mary and Ernest Hemingway together, and one from Mary with a short notation by Hemingway, all to Horne or Horne and his wife Bunny, and two transcripts of letters Horne wrote in reply.

The Hemingway Society

The Hemingway Society fosters "the promotion, assistance and coordination of scholarship and studies relating to the works and life of the late Ernest Hemingway.”

The Hemingway Review is published twice a year, in November and May, by The Hemingway Society and The University of Idaho Press. Averaging about 150 pages in length, each issue of the journal specializes in feature -length scholarly articles on the work and life of Ernest Hemingway, and also includes notes, book reviews, library information, and current bibliography. The Hemingway Society also publishes the Hemingway Review Blog.

 

The Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1954 was awarded to Ernest Hemingway "for his mastery of the art of narrative, most recently demonstrated in The Old Man and the Sea, and for the influence that he has exerted on contemporary style."

Additional Resources