Research Guides and Class Pages: Anthropology: Find Articles

Contact Us

Reference Desk Hours
Sunday: 12pm - 10pm
Monday - Thursday: 9am - 10pm
Friday: 9am - 5pm
Complete listing of library hours

Chat: Chat with a Librarian

Phone: 708-524-6875

Text a Librarian: 708-315-6403

Email
reference@dom.edu

Search for Articles

Databases
Explore library databases by title and subject.
Journal List
Find a journal or newspaper using the searchable A-Z list of the library's periodical collection. Holding information for almost 16,000 full text periodical titles.
Request an Article
Interlibrary Loan is a service that supports the research, teaching and coursework needs of the Dominican University community by providing access to materials from libraries throughout the United States.
Report a Database Problem
Use this form to report access problems with databases or electronic journals/books.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Annual Review of Anthropology
Review articles of current research.
Anthropology Journals in JSTOR
JSTOR is a full text archival database. Great for historical research, but there are no recent articles.
SAGE Premier & Backfile
SAGE Premier provides electronic access to currently 489 SAGE journals; from 1999 to present.

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Premium Collection provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. (From the publisher.)

Social Science Research Network
The Social Science Research Network is a searchable online clearinghouse for current social science research. This not-for-profit company, founded in 1994 by a group of esteemed scholar-investors, has posted more than 131,000 papers. The SSRN offers some subscription based services and features but access to research papers is free.
SocINDEX with Fulltext
This database features more than 1,918,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 845 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Google Scholar Search

Getting the Full Text

If the database you are searching contains the full text of the article you need, you will see links to the PDF and/or HTML full text.

If the database you are searching does not contain the full text of the article you need, look for a link that says "Find full text in other databases." This link launches Citation Linker. Citation Linker will check all of Dominican's other databases for the full text.

If the full text is available in another database, Citation Linker will automatically take you to that database.

If the full text is only available in print, Citation Linker will tell you. Print journals are on the lower level of the library.

If no full text is available, you will be linked to Illiad, where you can create an account and request the article from another library. Requests are free and usually take 7-10 days to arrive in your Illiad account.

Anthropology

Contact Us

Search for Articles

Recommended Databases

Google Scholar Search

Getting the Full Text

REBECCA CROWN LIBRARY

LIBRARY INFORMATION