Research Guides and Class Pages: Anthropology: Find Books

Book Catalogs

Dominican University Online Catalog
Search for books, magazines/journals, maps, music recordings, scores, and videos held by the Rebecca Crown Library.
I-Share Catalog
Search all 76 libraries in the CARLI consortium, including Dominican. Users must create an account in order to request books.
My Account
See what books you have out currently, renew, and update your information.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is an online index/database that allows you to search for books, videos, music, and articles available through libraries around the world.

WorldCat Local
Search for items at Dominican, in I-Share and in libraries worldwide. Includes books, internet resources, media and articles from select OCLC databases.

Google Book Search

Recommended Books

Encyclopedia of American Folklife by Simon J. Bronner
Call Number: REF GR105 .E53 2006
ISBN: 0765680521
Four volume encyclopedia covering many aspects of American life. Includes illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Religion by Lindsay Jones
Call Number: REF BL31 .E46 2005
ISBN: 0028657330
Comprehensive (15 vol.) encyclopedia covering all aspects of religion.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present by Joyce E. Salisbury
Call Number: REF GT31 .G74 2004
ISBN: 0313325413
This work provides a historical overview of domestic, economic, intellectual, material, political, recreational, and religious life from ancient times to the modern day.
International encyclopedia of marriage and family by James J. Ponzetti, Jr.
Call Number: REF HQ9 .E52 2003
ISBN: 0028656725
This four volume encyclopedia surveys family life from a multicultural and interdisciplinary perspective. Entries include useful cross-references and detailed bibliographies. International in scope, it includes 50 countries (however, more data is included for western industrialized countries). Some entries include charts, diagrams, tables or black-and-white captioned photographs.
Marriage customs of the world: from henna to honeymoons by George P. Monger
Call Number: REF GT2690 .M65 2004
ISBN: 1576079872
Covers marriage traditions internationally in an easy to understand style.
Men and masculinities: a social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia by Michael Kimmel and Amy Aronson
Call Number: REF HQ1090.3 .M436 2004
ISBN: 1576077748
Focussing mainly on the US, this book covers individuals, historical events, cultural symbols and well-known artwork as reflections of the concept of masculinity.
Traditional festivals : a multicutural encyclopedia by Christian Roy
Call Number: REF GT3925 .R69 2005
ISBN: 1576070891
Encyclopedia of festivals from around the world.
The Cultural Studies Reader by Simon During
Call Number: HM101 .C8928 2007
ISBN: 0415374138
This second edition collects thirty-eight representative essays in cultural studies as a means to introduction to the field, each with a contextual preface and suggestions for further reading. The introduction by the author, a professor of English at the University of Melbourne, provides a history and discussion of key concerns in the field.
International perspectives on family violence and abuse: a cognitive ecological approach by Kathleen Malley-Morrison
Call Number: HV6626 .I58 2004
ISBN: 0805842454
This comparative analysis looks at the issues of family violence and their underlying cultural assumptions in twenty-four countries: the U.S., Canada, five countries in Western Europe, three in Central and Southern Europe, three in the Middle East, two in Africa, six in Asia and the Pacific and three in Latin America. Each chapter provides readers with the cultural context to understand and compare the violence in each culture.
Modern loves : the anthropology of romantic courtship & companionate marriage by Jennifer S. Hirsch and Holly Wardlow
Call Number: HQ803 .M63 2006
ISBN: 0472069594
This comparative study examines the marital ideals of intimacy, companionship and mutual choice. Marriage negotiations in various cultures are examined including Brazil, Mexico, India and Latino youth in East Los Angeles. Includes some black-and-white photos and illustrations.
Parent-youth relations: cultural and cross-cultural perspectives by Gary W. Peterson, Suzanne K. Steinmetz, Stephan M. Wilson
Call Number: HQ799.15 .P34 2005
ISBN: 0789024829
With twenty-eight essays, this work investigates how culture affects parenting styles and the relationship between parents and children. Some articles are comparative and others explore relationships within a single culture.
Religion and anthropology: a critical introduction by Brian Morris
Call Number: BL256 .M67 2006
ISBN: 0521852412
This comparative study covers religious traditions as follows: Shamanism, Buddhism, Islam, Hinduism, Christianity in Africa, contemporary Neo-Paganism, African American traditions and religion in Melanesia.
Work/life city limits : comparative household perspectives by Helen Jarvis
Call Number: HD4904.25 .J37 2005
ISBN: 1403914966
This is a comparative study of the way people organize their work lives in post-industrial cities in England and the United States. It focuses on the social and environmental impacts of work-life balance, stressing increasing gender inequality and decreasing urban environmental quality.
Young men and masculinities: global cultures and intimate lives by Victor J. Seidler
Call Number: HQ799.6 .S45 2006
ISBN: 1842778064
Given globalization and technology, men are confronted with a variety of images about masculinity. This book looks at the challenges for young men throughout the world constructing their own postmodern identities.

Locating Books

Books are arranged by call number, indicated by the blue arrow in the image below. Be sure to check the status of the book, too. If it says "available," the book is on the shelf. If the book is checked out, the status will say "checked out."

Books with call numbers A - N are on the first floor of the library.
Books with call number P - Z are on the second floor of the library.

Call numbers are in the Library of Congress system. Each letter corresponds to a certain subject. For a list of letters and their subjects, see http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

Reference books, print periodicals, movies and music are on the lower level of the library.

Finding Books in I-Share

This video will show you how to find and request books through the I-Share catalog.

Anthropology

Book Catalogs

Google Book Search

Recommended Books

Locating Books

Finding Books in I-Share

Search the DU Online Catalog

REBECCA CROWN LIBRARY

LIBRARY INFORMATION