It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide for help in your Criminology courses and assignments.
Books are arranged by call number, indicated by the blue arrow in the image below. Be sure to check the status of the book, too. If it says "available," the book is on the shelf. If the book is checked out, the status will say "checked out."
Books with call numbers A - N are on the first floor of the library.
Books with call number P - Z are on the second floor of the library.
Call numbers are in the Library of Congress system. Each letter corresponds to a certain subject. For a list of letters and their subjects, see http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.
Reference books, print periodicals, movies and music are on the lower level of the library.
With 250 articles on a wide variety of topics, everything from "abortion" to "vigilantism," this encyclopedia is accessible, comprehensive, and designed for the student or layperson. Entries can have an international perspective, and also address social and feminist issues and concerns.
While similar to the other crime and criminology encyclopedias, The Encyclopedia of Criminology includes biographical, theoretical, and legal information, as well as multicultural traditions of crime, criminology, and criminal justice. This encyclopedia lists subjects alphabetically as well as by subject.
This encyclopedia takes a more practice-based perspective than the Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, and includes entries on INTERPOL, firearms, forensics, prisons, and prevention/rehabilitation programs, and almost all articles have a national perspective. This 4-volume encyclopedia also includes maps, charts, graphs, and photos, appendices, and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Crime by Oliver Cyriax, Colin Wilson & Damon Wilson
Call Number: REF HV6017 .C974 2006x
Find using i-share. The Encyclopedia of Crime is an excellent ready reference source for a range of broad crime and criminology concepts, as well as popular and well known criminals, especially those that rose to notoriety in the 20th century. While this book is not nearly as in-depth as other subject encyclopedias in the collection, it provides excellent coverage of contemporary crimes and criminals not found in other sources.
This crime encyclopedia is an excellent source for a social and psychological perspective on crime and criminals with a wide array of entries and topics. It also includes an appendix, bibliographies, and charts.
Although this book is primarily intended to be a resource guide to understanding sexual, emotional, domestic, and gender-related abuse, it also includes information about elder abuse, sexual harassment, and intervention and prevention. This text is contains statistical analysis, charts, graphs, as well as resources for women, victims, and families. Even though it is intended as a sourcebook and resource guide, it does contain excellent information about gender-related crime.
This book serves as a comprehensive guide to careers in the criminal justice and criminology field, with training, job requirements, qualifications, and salary range for a variety of jobs and professions. The book also includes anecdotal evidence and advice from professionals established in the field.