Research Guides and Class Pages: Philosophy: Find Books

Search the DU Online Catalog

Google Book Search

Subject Guide

Contact Us

Reference Desk Hours
Sunday: 12pm - 10pm
Monday - Thursday: 9am - 10pm
Friday: 9am - 5pm
Complete listing of library hours

Chat: Chat with a Librarian

Phone: 708-524-6875

Text a Librarian: 708-315-6403

Email
reference@dom.edu

Book Catalogs

Dominican University Online Catalog
Search for books, magazines/journals, maps, music recordings, scores, and videos held by the Rebecca Crown Library.
I-Share Catalog
Search all 76 libraries in the CARLI consortium, including Dominican. Users must create an account in order to request books.
My Account
See what books you have out currently, renew, and update your information.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is an online index/database that allows you to search for books, videos, music, and articles available through libraries around the world.

WorldCat Local
Search for items at Dominican, in I-Share and in libraries worldwide. Includes books, internet resources, media and articles from select OCLC databases.

Recommended Books

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi
Call Number: REF. B41 .C35 1999 and Online
ISBN: 052163136X
Defines and explains thousands of philosophical terms, as well as the work of important philosophers.
The Columbia History of Western Philosophy by Richard H. Popkin
Call Number: REF B72 .C593 1999
ISBN: 0231101287
Covers principal thinkers and themes of Western philosophy.
Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion : Eastern and Western Thought by William L. Reese
Call Number: REF B41 .R431996
ISBN: 0391038656
Short introductory articles on thinkers and topics in philosophy make this best for a quick overview.
The Encyclopedia of philosophy by Paul Edwards
Call Number: REF B51 .E6
ISBN: 0028970489
Published in 1967, with a supplement in 1996, this is considered a major reference work in philosophy. It contains substantial articles on all major philosophers and philosophical ideas. Bibliographies are included with articles.
Key Ideas in Human Thought by Kenneth McLeish
Call Number: REF B41 .K481993
ISBN: 0816027072
This dictionary provides brief definitions of terms and ideas in all areas of human thought.
The Oxford Companion to philosophy by Ted Honderich
Call Number: REF B51 .O94 2005
ISBN: 0199264791
Comprehensively covers most important philosophers, and also includes shorter treatments of less well known philosophers. Also includes discussions of issues and terms.
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy by Edward Craig
Call Number: REF B51 .R681998
ISBN: 0415073103
This 10 volume encyclopedia is the latest full scale encyclopedia of philosophy. It includes lengthy articles, often more that 10 pages on individual philosophers and philosophical issues. All articles offer suggestions for further reading, articles on individual philosophers provide a list of their works. The best source in which to begin major research.
: World philosophy: essay-reviews of 225 major works by Frank N. Magill
Call Number: REF B29 .W68 1982
ISBN: 0893563269
Collection of essays about 225 major philosophical works. Each article covers the principle ideas advanced in the work and excerpts from pertinent literature about the work.
The Philosopher’s index
Call Number: Periodicals Shelved by Title
ISBN: 0031-7993
Philosopher’s Index is a subject and author index with abstracts Books and periodicals in English, French, German, Spanish and Italian are indexed. This publication is the only index in the field.

Locating Books

Books are arranged by call number, indicated by the blue arrow in the image below. Be sure to check the status of the book, too. If it says "available," the book is on the shelf. If the book is checked out, the status will say "checked out."

Books with call numbers A - N are on the first floor of the library.
Books with call number P - Z are on the second floor of the library.

Call numbers are in the Library of Congress system. Each letter corresponds to a certain subject. For a list of letters and their subjects, see http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/.

Reference books, print periodicals, movies and music are on the lower level of the library.

Finding Books in I-Share

This video will show you how to find and request books through the I-Share catalog.

Philosophy