Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Physician Assistant Systematic Review

Zotero Introduction

When working on a large research project with lots of citations. It is highly recommended to use a citation manager to help you keep track of every that you have found. There are several citation managers freely available online, but I would recommend Zotero for this project. 

Zotero is a free, open-source research tool that helps you collect, organize, and analyze research and share it in a variety of ways. Zotero includes the best parts of older reference manager software — the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references — and the best aspects of modern software and web applications, such as the ability to organize, tag, and search in advanced ways. Zotero interacts seamlessly with online resources: when it senses you are viewing a book, article, or other object on the web, it can automatically extract and save complete bibliographic references. Zotero effortlessly transmits information to and from other web services and applications, and it runs both as a web service and offline on your personal devices.

Adding Zotero Extension

1) Go to Zotero.org

2) Click on red "Download Now" button

3) Click on Install Chrome Connector

4) In the Pop-up window, click on add extension

5) There will now be a sheet icon next to your address bar. This icon may change depending on the type of resource on the page you are looking at.

 

Adding Articles using Zotero Extension

  1. Go to Zotero.org and log into your account

​​ 

2. Search Library database or Google Scholar for articles

3. Click on title of Article you want to save

4. Click on Zotero icon on the address bar. 

5. There will be a Saving to Zotero pop-up box at the bottom of your screen. 

6.  The articles will be saved to your library on Zotero. 

 

Organizing Articles into Collections

Organizing Articles into Different Collections

1. Create a collection by clicking on the Folder+ icon above the Library​​

2. Name collection and add it to a Parent Collection if you want it to be a sub-collection

3. Click Create

4. Select Articles to add to the collection

5. Click on folder+ icon above the Articles

6. Select which collection you would like to add it to from the drop-down menu in the pop-up box

7. Click add

Adding AMA to Zotero

1. Go to Zotero.org.

2. Go to Download Now

3. Click Download under Zotero: 5.0 for Windows

4. Click on Zotero.5.0.34_setup.exe in your downloads to run the program.

5. After files are extracted, the Zotero Setup Wizard will pop up. Click next.

6. Choose Standard, and click next.

7. Click install.

8. Click Finish to launch Zotero

9. Now you need to sync your desktop version with your browser account.

10. In the Zotero Desktop Application, click the Edit tab, and select preferences at the end of the drop down menu.

11. Go to the Sync tab and enter your username and password or create an account, and click set up syncing.

12. Leave “Sync Automatically” and “Sync Full-text Content” checked and click okay.

13. Click on green sync arrow on the right side of the window to begin the sync process.

With this set up, articles you save with the browser application should automatically sync to the desktop. If you do not see an article, click on the green arrow to sync the accounts manually.

      14. Go back to Preferences under the Edit tab.

      15. Go to the Cite tab, under the list of styles, click on Get Additional Styles.

      16. Search for AMA in the title search bar.

       17. Select the first American Medical Association listing to add the citation style to the full list of styles.

     

 18. Click Okay in the Zotero Preferences.