Skip to Main Content
library banner

Government Information

To ensure a separation of powers, the U.S. Federal Government is made up of three branches: the Executive, Judicial and Legislative.

The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government and provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. It begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.



The executive branch of the government is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land. The President, Vice President, Cabinet Members, and Agency Heads carry out this mission.  Click here for more information about the Executive branch.



The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court, Lower Courts, Special Courts, and court support organizations. The Judiciary explains and applies the laws. 

Click here for more information about the Judicial branch.



The legislative branch is the law making branch of government made up of the Senate, the House of Representatives, and agencies that support Congress.

Click here for more information about the Legislative branch.