Skip to Main Content
library banner

Government Information

Congressional Info

Legislative Branch

Established by Article I of the Constitution, the Legislative Branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which together form the United States Congress. The Constitution grants Congress the sole authority to enact legislation and declare war, the right to confirm or reject many Presidential appointments, and substantial investigative powers. For more information about the Legislative branch, click here.

House of Representatives