Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

RCL: About Us

Mission

The Rebecca Crown Library (RCL) is an integral part of the culture and community of Dominican University. Its mission is in harmony with the Dominican University Mission: to pursue truth, give compassionate service, and contribute to a more just and humane world. The mission of the Rebecca Crown Library mandates the academic support of students, faculty, and staff for resources and services. In addition to supplying print and electronic materials, services such as reference, circulation, interlibrary loan and instruction provide means through which the Dominican University Mission may be realized.

DIRECTORY

Departments
Acquisitions (708) 524-6882 acq@dom.edu
Archives (708) 524-5929 archives@dom.edu
Circulation (708) 524-6876 circ@dom.edu
Government Docs (708) 524-6872 govdocs@dom.edu
Innovation Lab (708) 524-6500 innovationlab@dom.edu
Interlibrary Loan (708) 524-6877 interlib@dom.edu
Periodicals (708) 524-6882 periodicals@dom.edu
Reference (708) 524-6875 reference@dom.edu
Reserves (708) 524-6877 reserves@dom.edu

 

Faculty Librarians and Library Staff
Diane Anderson, MAT, MLIS Part-Time Instruction Librarian (708) 524-6886 danderson2@dom.edu
Beronica Avila, MLIS Learning Commons Librarian (708) 524-6958 bavila1@dom.edu
Jill Bambenek, MLIS Access Services Librarian (708) 524-6874 jbambenek@dom.edu

David Banas

Weekend Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6876 banadavi@dom.edu
Harrison Bruch Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6881 hbruch@dom.edu
Eric Currie, MA, MLIS Part-Time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875 ecurrie@dom.edu
Stephanie Fletcher, MA, MLIS

Technical Services & E-Resources

Librarian

(708) 524-6872 sfletcher@dom.edu
Cathy Geers, MA, MLIS Part-Time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875 cgeers@dom.edu
Allison Liesz Acquisitions Coordinator (708) 524-6882 aliesz@dom.edu
Molly Mansfield, MLIS

Instructional Services & Online

Learning Librarian

(708) 524-6870 mmansfield@dom.edu
Estevan Montano University Librarian 708-524-6873 emontano@dom.edu
Sabrena Robinson, MAEA, MLIS Part-Time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875 swetzel.dom.edu
Ricardo Rodriguez, MLIS Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6877 rrodriguez3@dom.edu
Steven Szegedi, MLIS Archivist & Special Collections Librarian (708) 524-5929 sszegedi@dom.edu
William Waites, MLIS Part-Time Instruction Librarian (708) 524-6886 wwaites@dom.edu
Joy Wilder Library Operations Coordinator (708) 524-6880 jwilder@dom.edu

HISTORY

Dominican University's first library, containing the collections brought from St. Clara College in Sinsinawa, was located in what is now the Phyllis Skiffington Noonan Reading Room on the second floor of Lewis Hall.  Sister Mary Reparata Murray, who established the School of Library Science in 1930, was the first librarian.

The current Library, named after Rebecca Kranz Crown, the wife of Colonel Henry Crown, Chicago philanthropist, and the library's principal benefactor, opened in 1972. Major renovations, which created the light, open spaces one sees today, were completed in 2002.