Skip to main content
library banner

RCL: About Us

Mission

The Rebecca Crown Library (RCL) is an integral part of the culture and community of Dominican University. Its mission is in harmony with the Dominican University Mission: to pursue truth, give compassionate service, and contribute to a more just and humane world. The mission of the Rebecca Crown Library mandates the academic support of students, faculty, and staff for resources and services. In addition to supplying print and electronic materials, services such as reference, circulation, interlibrary loan and instruction provide means through which the Dominican University Mission may be realized.

HISTORY

Dominican University's first library, containing the collections brought from St. Clara College in Sinsinawa, was located in what is now the Phyllis Skiffington Noonan Reading Room on the second floor of Lewis Hall.  Sister Mary Reparata Murray, who established the School of Library Science in 1930, was the first librarian.

The current Library, named after Rebecca Kranz Crown, the wife of Colonel Henry Crown, Chicago philanthropist, and the library's principal benefactor, opened in 1972. Major renovations, which created the light, open spaces one sees today, were completed in 2002.

DIRECTORY

Departments
Acquisitions (708) 524-6882 acq@dom.edu
Archives (708) 524-5929 archives@dom.edu
Circulation (708) 524-6875 circ@dom.edu
Government Docs (708) 524-6872 govdocs@dom.edu
Interlibrary Loan (708) 524-6877 interlib@dom.edu
Media Center (708) 524-6500 mediacenter@dom.edu
Periodicals (708) 524-6885 periodicals@dom.edu
Reference (708) 524-6875 reference@dom.edu
Reserves (708) 524-6879 reserves@dom.edu

 

Faculty Librarians
Felice Maciejewski, MLS University Librarian (708) 524-6873 fmaciejewski@dom.edu
Jill Bambenek, MLIS Access Services Librarian (708) 524-6874 jbambenek@dom.edu
Martinique Hallerduff, MA, MLIS Instructional Services Librarian (708) 524-6886 mhallerduff@dom.edu
Elizabeth Lang, MLIS Instructional & Outreach Librarian (708) 524-6884 elang@dom.edu
Molly Mansfield, MLIS Instruction & Online Learning Librarian (708) 524-6870 mmansfield@dom.edu
Heather Parisi, MLIS Technical Services Librarian (708) 524-6872 hparisi@dom.edu
Steven Szegedi, MLIS Archivist & Special Collections Librarian (708) 524-5929 sszegedi@dom.edu

 

Library Staff
Ana Alonso Serials & Online Resource Coordinator (708) 524-6885 aalonso@dom.edu
David Banas Weekend Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6876 banadavi@dom.edu
Jessica Barth Media Center Coordinator (708) 524-6505 jbarth@dom.edu
Eric Currie, MA, MLIS Part-time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875 ecurrie@dom.edu
Maggi Czoty Acquisitions Coordinator (708) 524-6882 mlczoty@dom.edu
Cathy Geers, MA, MLIS Part-time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875 cgeers@dom.edu
Patrick Hussey Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6881 phussey@dom.edu
Chelly Oquendo Reserves Coordinator (708) 524-6879 coquendo@dom.edu
Kathleen Rhoades, MLIS Circulation & Interlibrary Loan Coordinator (708) 524-6877 krhoades@dom.edu
Joy Wilder Administrative Assistant (708) 524-6880 jwilder@dom.edu
Sabrena Wetzel, MAEA, MLIS Part-time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875 swetzel.dom.edu