It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collected resources to support the study of Bioethics
All of the journals listed to your right are found within Rebecca Crown Library's collection of databases. A strategy for broader results would be to search the entire database, there you will find items from the bioethics specific journals as well as much more. Try some keywords and phrases in the databases below!
Every issue of AJOB contains peer-reviewed Target Articles that zero in on tough questions, answered by Open Commentary articles from scholars across disciplines and cultures. The American Journal of Bioethics provides an authoritative, annotated conversation that has been used by judges, Senators, journalists, scholars, schoolteachers, and millions of others as the key source on thousands of topics in the health sciences.
Cambridge Quarterly of Healthcare Ethics is designed to serve as an international forum for addressing the increasingly complex challenges of biology, medicine and healthcare. As a journal committed to expanding the community of bioethicists worldwide, CQ welcomes well-argued papers from a variety of methodological and normative viewpoints.
Ethics & Medics provides analysis and commentary on matters of current interest in health care, medicine, and law to help priests and religious, health professionals, students, and lay Catholics understand and appreciate the moral teaching of the Church regarding life and health.
This bimonthly publication explores the shared themes and concerns of philosophy and the medical sciences. Central issues in medical research and practice have important philosophical dimensions, for, in treating disease and promoting health, medicine involves presuppositions about human goals and values. Conversely, the concerns of philosophy often significantly relate to those of medicine, as philosophers seek to understand the nature of medical knowledge and the human condition in the modern world. In addition, recent developments in medical technology and treatment create moral problems that raise important philosophical questions. The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy aims to provide an ongoing forum for the discussion of such themes and issues.
The Linacre Quarterly is the oldest continuously published bioethics journal in the United States. As the official journal of the Catholic Medical Association, it explores issues at the interface of medicine and religion, focusing on bioethics and also exploring medical topics which have an ethical dimension. Drawing from the rich tradition of Catholic bioethics, the journal brings a holistic approach to the patient, integrating findings from clinical medicine with psychology, sociology, and religion in order to elucidate bioethical issues and their impact on patients, health-care workers, and medical systems in the setting of society and the extant culture.
The National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly addresses the ethical, philosophical, and theological questions raised by the rapid pace of modern medical and technological progress. It is the official journal of The National Catholic Bioethics Center, an organization dedicated to research and analysis on moral issues arising in health care and the life sciences. The Quarterly seeks to foster intellectual inquiry on moral issues by publishing articles that address the ethical, philosophical, theological, and clinical questions raised by the rapid pace of modern medical and technological progress.
The New Bioethics seeks to reclaim bioethics as a diverse and multidisciplinary project. It provides a space for dialogue between different perspectives on biotechnology and the human body and offers the chance to find new kinds of common ground. The journal invites contributions from a range of perspectives, from STEAM, law, philosophy, social and political sciences and theology from diverse religions.
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is recognized as the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community. Our mission is to publish the best research and information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice and to present this information in understandable, clinically useful formats that inform health care delivery and improve patient outcomes.
Founded and sponsored by the Society of Jesus in the United States of America, Theological Studies is a Catholic scholarly journal that serves the Church and its mission by promoting a deeper understanding of the Christian faith through the publication of research in theological disciplines.