It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All of the journals listed to your right are found within Rebecca Crown Library's collection of databases. A strategy for broader results would be to search the entire database, there you will find items from the Native American Studies specific journals as well as much more. Try some keywords and phrases in the databases below!
Academic Search Complete is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Proquest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a online collection of over 500 major academic research journals covering topics in the arts, humanities, business, and social sciences. JSTOR is always scholarly. Dominican University has access to the following collections:
Arts and Sciences I, II, III, and IV.
A Streaming video collection covering the wide range of topics essential to the study of sociology. From poverty, gender inequality, and social justice to crime, prejudice, globalization, and so much more, key subjects in sociology are explored by in-depth documentaries and curriculum-focused instructional videos.
The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide. Publishing two issues each year, AILR circulates in-depth articles by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, the Review provides comments and notes written by student members and editors on a variety of Indian law-related topics.
American Indian Quarterly has earned its reputation as one of the dominant journals in American Indian studies by presenting the best and most thought-provoking scholarship in the field. AIQ is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits.
The Canadian Journal of Native Studies is a highly recognized journal in the field of Native Studies. It began as a publication of the Society for the Advancement of Native Studies which is no longer in operation and whose founder; Sam Corrigan; was the Chief Editor from 1981-2008. it comes out on a bi-annual basis, and publishes original research which is refereed by peer review.
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society solicits any work purposefully engaged in the decolonization process, regardless of discipline or field, encouraging work that actively seeks undisciplinary connections that work both against and beyond the Western academy. We recognize that this is a wide net to cast but feel strongly that decolonization must happen at all levels, in all fields, and all locations; decolonization seeks to explore the relationships between knowledges and tears down the artificial disciplinary demarcations of dominant ways of knowing and being. Colonial power affects all areas of life and thought - this journal seeks to engage and confront that power at every level.
Ethnic and Racial Studies aims to be the leading international journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism. These social phenomena are at the heart of many of the major social and political issues in the modern world. As the leading journal in these areas we seek to provide an interdisciplinary academic forum for the presentation of original research and theoretical analysis, drawing particularly on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, international relations, geography, history, social psychology and cultural studies.
The mission of the Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association is to improve the health of Indigenous Peoples, by supporting Indigenous Nurses and by promoting the development and practice of Indigenous Health Nursing.
The Journal of American Ethnic History (JAEH) addresses various aspects of North American immigration history and American ethnic history, including background of emigration, ethnic and racial groups, Native Americans, race and ethnic relations, immigration policies, and the processes of incorporation, integration, and acculturation. Each issue contains articles, review essays, and single book reviews.
The Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a refereed journal publishing original scholarship directly related to the education of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including Inuit, Métis, and First Nations of Canada, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Africa, and others. JAIE strives to improve Indigenous education through empirical research, knowledge generation, and transmission to researchers, communities, classrooms, and diverse educational settings.
The National Center for American Indian and Alaska Native Mental Health Research (NCAIANMHR) is the only program of this type in the country focusing specifically on American Indian and Alaska Native populations. The NCAIANMHR has four major program functions: research, research training, information dissemination, and technical assistance.
The Native Studies Review began publication in 1984 as a refereed bi-annual journal by the Department of Indigenous Studies of the University of Saskatchewan. The journal’s mandate is to feature original scholarly research on Aboriginal perspectives and issues in contemporary and historical contexts. As a multidisciplinary periodical, it publishes articles dealing primarily with a Canadian focus but welcomes submissions with an international focus.
Wicazo Sa Review is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits. During the past two decades, American Indian studies has emerged as a central arena in which indigenous populations in the United States define the cultural, religious, legal and historical parameters of scholarship and creativity essential to the ongoing process of decolonization and to survival in the modern world. Founded in 1985, Wicazo Sa Review is a journal in support of this particular type of scholarship, providing inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present. For more information about Wicazo Sa Review, visit the University of Minnesota Press.