It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The African American Experience is an authoritative research tool for African American history and culture, providing information from contributors who are experts in the field,. This vast and accessible database covers history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes. Contains primary documents, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other documentation from 1492 to the present.
The Oxford African American Studies Center is the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. The center ncludes articles from Oxford University Press reference sources, primary sources, images, maps, charts & tables, multimedia, timelines, and biographies.
Black Studies in Video brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. At completion, the collection will contain 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material
Streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Contains more than 1,800 documentary films and thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously
published since 1936, the Handbook offers an essential guide to available resources.
Latino American Experience is the first-ever online resource dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest minority group in the United States. Featuring more than 200 volumes of unique content, the database includes hundreds of primary source documents like maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, links to relevant websites and other material.
Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT) is a comprehensive, national and community-based process to plan for and bring about transformational and sustainable change, and to address the historic and contemporary effects of racism. TRHT seeks to unearth and jettison the deeply held, and often unconscious, beliefs created by racism – the main one being the belief in a “hierarchy of human value.”
This Implementation Guidebook will help individuals, organizations, communities and First Nations in planning, implementing and evaluating the W.K. Kellogg Foundation's Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation efforts. Thank you to more than 176 members of organizational and individual TRHT partners who contributed to the creation of this guidebook.
As 14 TRHT places approach the fourth year of implementation, these seven knowledge briefs share progress on what has been learned so far in the 14 TRHT places – offering a glimpse into the opportunities, nuances and complexities of implementing a community-based TRHT.
Across the world, Truth and Reconciliation Commissions have been implemented more than 40 times. This publication describes some of those historical efforts, in the United States and internationally, to confront some of the most egregious examples of oppression. It was originally compiled in 2015 as a source of insight and lessons for those who co-developed the W.K. Kellogg Foundation's Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT) framework, recommendations and implementation guidebook.
As a major, public flagship university in the American South, so-called "Diversity University" has struggled to define its commitments to diversity and inclusion, and to put those commitments into practice. In Diversity Regimes, sociologist James M. Thomas draws on more than two years of ethnographic fieldwork at DU to illustrate the conflicts and contingencies between a core set of actors at DU over what diversity is and how it should be accomplished. Thomas's analysis of this dynamic process uncovers what he calls "diversity regimes": a complex combination of meanings, practices, and actions that work to institutionalize commitments to diversity, but in doing so obscure, entrench, and even magnify existing racial inequalities. Thomas's concept of diversity regimes, and his focus on how they are organized and unfold in real time, provides new insights into the social organization of multicultural principles and practices.
Freedom Libraries: The Untold Story of Libraries for African-Americans in the South. As the Civil Rights Movement exploded across the United States, the media of the time was able to show the rest of the world images of horrific racial violence. And while some of the bravest people of the 20th century risked their lives for the right to simply order a cheeseburger, ride a bus, or use a clean water fountain, there was another virtually unheard of struggle--this one for the right to read. Although illegal, racial segregation was strictly enforced in a number of American states, and public libraries were not immune. Numerous libraries were desegregated on paper only: there would be no cards given to African-Americans, no books for them read, and no furniture for them to use. It was these exact conditions that helped create Freedom Libraries. Over eighty of these parallel libraries appeared in the Deep South, staffed by civil rights voter registration workers. While the grassroots nature of the libraries meant they varied in size and quality, all of them created the first encounter many African-Americans had with a library. Terror, bombings, and eventually murder would be visited on the Freedom Libraries--with people giving up their lives so others could read a library book. This book delves into how these libraries were the heart of the Civil Rights Movement, and the remarkable courage of the people who used them. They would forever change libraries and librarianship, even as they helped the greater movement change the society these libraries belonged to. Photographs of the libraries bring this little-known part of American history to life.
Exploring the diverse terrain that makes up library and information science (LIS), this collection features the work of scholars, practitioners, and others who draw from a variety of theoretical approaches to name, problematize, and ultimately fissure whiteness at work. Contributors not only provide critical accounts of the histories of whiteness - particularly as they have shaped libraries and archives in higher education - but also interrogate current formations, from the policing of people of color in library spaces to imagined LIS futures. This volume also considers possibilities for challenging oppressive legacies and charting a new course towards anti-racist librarianship, whether in the classroom, at the reference desk, or elsewhere.