It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library and Information Science
Use this guide for help with your LIS courses and assignments.
The AASL is the division of the American Library Association for school libraries & media centers. This site offers career development resources, information on scholarships, select content from the AASL’s journal Knowledge Quest and access to the online journal School Library Media Research.
The ALA is the largest and most inclusive library association in the United States. Under the "Products & Publications" tab of the website, you will find a list of all the periodicals ALA publishes: many have links to online archives. There is also a catalog of ALA publications available for browsing. Each division of the ALA (Association of College & Research Libraries, Public Library Association, Young Adult Library Services Association, etc.) has its own website within www.ala.org with further information, guidelines, and resources.
ASIST is an organization which draws its membership from professionals in the fields of librarianship, computer science, linguistics, engineering, medicine, chemistry, and education. This website offers select full-text articles from the Bulletin of the American Society for Information Science and Technology. There are also links to discussion lists, employment listings, and notices about conferences.
The ACRL is a division of the American Library Association that focuses on college and research libraries. This website features its own frequently updated weblog about current topics relevant to academic librarians. Select content from the association’s periodicals College & Research Libraries, College & Research Libraries News, and CHOICE: Current Reviews For Academic Libraries is available under the Publications tab. Job postings that appear in College & Research Library News are also included.
An organization of 123 research libraries, mostly university-affiliated. A variety of articles, reports, and statistics relating to research library issues can be found in on the main page and in the Publications section of the website. Career resources and discussion lists can be found in the Services section.
IFLA is an international organization of libraries and librarians from 150 countries. The website features an Electronic Collections sections, which contains documents and bibliographies in the following categories: Library & Information Science, Digital Libraries, Government Publications, Internet & Networking, and Information Policy.
The MLA is a U.S.-based association of health information professionals. This site offers full-text access to the journal MLA News from 2002-2005 and the Journal of the Medical Library Association from 1911-2005.
The division of the American Library Association devoted to supporting public libraries. The website features electronic versions of the magazine Public Libraries from 2003 – present and an extensive compilation of resources for public librarians.
An international organization of information professionals working in special libraries in 83 countries. This website has an online version of the most current issue of the SLA’s journal Information Outlook, career resources, discussion lists, and links to further resources.
A resource designed for use by librarians writing journal articles, grants, etc. Includes lists of databases, journals, statistics sources, conference proceedings, and hundreds of other Web resources for information relating to libraries.