This page provides information on how to locate reviews.
Review Sources for Library and Information Science Module
This video will provide information about some of the library and information science review source databases available at Rebecca Crown Library.
ARBA Online (American Reference Books Annual)
** ARBA Online is no longer available. The publisher is in the process of transitioning the content to a new database and has yet to provide a release date for the new product **
The most comprehensive, authoritative database for quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Featuring more than 19,500 reviews of reference works, ARBAonline lets you identify and assess reference publications with confidence and ease, and enables you to keep your library collection up-to-date, maintain quality standards, and ensure depth of coverage.
A compilation of numerous well-categorized book review web sites. The general interest review sites include both popular press magazines and scholarly journals. Subject-specific book review sites include topics such as children, young adults, computing, education, history, literature, music, mysteries, science, science fiction, romance, and social science.
BIR Entertainment provides information on about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles, with more being added regularly. With BIR, your patrons can find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or a specific genre.
Choice Reviews for Academic Libraries is a premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Create your own profile, save searches, compile and save lists, and create alerts to be notified of each new book reviewed in your subject of interest.
"Video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers. The reviews are written by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada."
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.