Skip to main content
library banner

Tutorials

Academic Search Complete

From this video you will learn how to search for and find articles from the database Academic Search Complete. 

Accessing and Using JSTOR

Accessing Databases at the Rebecca Crown Library

In this video you will learn how to find general and subject specific databases that are available through the Rebecca Crown Library.

Business Databases

From this video you will learn how to locate business and economic databases from the library website. 

Choosing Appropriate Sources Part 1

From this video you will learn about the types of sources needed for an annotated bibliography, as well as what the Information Cycle is. 

Choosing Appropriate Sources Part 2

From this video you will learn about how to select sources for an annotated bibliography.

Connect Google Scholar to Library Databases

This video will teach you how to connect Google Scholar to Dominican Library Databases. 

Create an I-Share Account

From this video you will learn how to borrow books from I-Share and sign up for your account. 

Creating Keywords

This video will introduce you to keywords and how to create them.

Education Source

This video will teach you how to locate education databases on the library website, as well as show you how to find articles using the Education Source database. 

Empirical Studies in PsycINFO

This video tutorial will teach you how to conduct a search for empirical studies in PsycINFO.

ERIC Database

In this video we will explore the ERIC database: how to navigate, how to perform a basic search, how to limit results, and an explanation of ERIC Documents

Evaluating Websites

In this video, learn about evaluating websites for use in academic research.

Find a Database Article from a Citation

In this video you will learn how to locate an article using a citation and the library databases. 

Finding and Accessing eBooks

From this video you will learn how to access eBooks from the library.

Finding Books at Rebecca Crown Library

In this video you will learn how to locate books in the library catalog. 

Finding Books Using Advanced Search

In this video you will learn how to perform an advanced search in the library catalog.

Finding Books Using I-Share

From this video you will learn how to locate books from other libraries in I-Share through the I-Share catalog. 

Finding Streaming Videos in Kanopy

This short video will show you how to find movies and other streaming videos through the database Kanopy that is available from the Rebecca Crown Library.

Five Common Terms Used in Research

This video will introduce you to five common terms you'll need to know when starting research.

Getting Help at Crown Library

This video will teach you the different ways that you can get help from librarians at the Rebecca Crown Library. 

Google Advanced Search

From this video you will learn how to access Google's advanced search screen, as well as how to search using the advanced search within Google. 

How to Get a Full Text Article Through Interlibrary Loan

This video walks you through the steps of ordering an article from another library.

How to Place Items on Course Reserve

This video will show instructors at Dominican University how to put books on course reserve at the Rebecca Crown Library. Instructors can request that course-related books and other materials be placed on reserve at the library’s circulation desk for students to check out.

How to Read Research Articles

This video will introduce you to an effective way to read scientific articles.

How to Spot Fake News

This video describes how to spot fake news and also ties to political candidates.

Library and Information Source

In this video you will learn how to access and search the Library and Information Source Database.

MEDLINE Database

This video will show you how to access MEDLINE through the Rebecca Crown Library, and how to search the database. The accompanying handout provides printable instructions.

Methods Used to Collect Data and Reliability of Data

From this video you will learn to identify the methods used to collect data in different types of sources, as well as how to determine if data is reliable. 

Original Research vs. Review Articles

This video will examine the differences between original research and review articles.

Quick Search

This video shows you how to use the Quick Search on the library homepage.

Research Question vs. Thesis

In this video, you will learn the difference between a research question and a thesis. 

Research the Vote: Plan to Vote

In this video, you will learn how to register to vote online and how to plan for Election Day.

 

Review Sources

From this video you will learn about review source databases that are available from the library.

Using Crown Library Off Campus

Students can access a majority of Crown Library's resources through the library website. Watch this quick video to learn how to contact a librarian, find books, and access journal articles. For further assistance with using the library resources, contact a librarian

Using Zotero

In this video you will learn how to set up your Zotero account.

Value Line's Portfolio Tracker

In this video you will learn how to access the Value Line database and create a portfolio tracker.

Welcome to the Rebecca Crown Library

From this video you will learn what services are offered in the Rebecca Crown Library, as well as where to locate items and services in the library.

What is Peer Review?

This video will introduce you to the peer review process. 

Online Learning Librarian

Molly Mansfield's picture
Molly Mansfield
Contact:
Crown 104
708-524-6870