Oral Histories

The New York City Trans Oral History Project is a community archive devoted to the collection, preservation, and sharing of trans histories, organized in collaboration with the New York Public Library.

The Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African American women between 1976 and 1981.

The Yiddish Book Center’s Wexler Oral History Project is a growing collection of more than 1,200 in-depth video interviews about Yiddish language and culture.

The Great Depression Interviews originally debuted on PBS stations in 1993. The 7-part series was met with critical acclaim, winning an Emmy for writing and a duPont-Columbia Award. These interviews are part of the Henry Hampton Collection housed at the Film & Media Archive at Washington University Libraries. Each video and transcript represents the entire interview conducted by Blackside, Inc., including portions that did not appear in the final program.

Voices/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive: Since 1981, Dr. Sidney Bolkosky, Professor of History at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, has interviewed Holocaust survivors. The University's Mardigian Library has been the repository of these interviews.

Smith College Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. 

Palestinian Oral History Archive (POHA) is an archival collection that contains more than 1,000 hours of testimonies with first generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon. The project will digitize, index, catalog, preserve, and provide access to the material through the creation of a state-of the art digital platform.

Palestine Speaks: In 2014, Voice of Witness released Palestine Speaks: Narratives of Life Under Occupation, which shares oral histories of people in Gaza and the West Bank. They describe in their own words how their lives have been shaped by the human rights violations that occur daily—as well as the resistance and community they build. These stories are needed now more than ever to counter dehumanizing rhetoric used by politicians and mainstream media to justify more violence and oppression.

South Asian Oral History Project: A project from the University of Washington. The SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history.