Physician Assistant Studies

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

Since the publication of the fourth edition of Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice, there have been considerable advances in medical diagnosis and treatment, as well as changes in the ways in which health care is organized and delivered. The science of genetics has revolutionized the understanding of disease, and we have entered the era of personalized medicine in which therapies are not only targeted to specific diseases, but increasingly, to specific individuals. New medications, therapies, and technologies are continually emerging for the treatment of a variety of behavioral health problems, such as mood and anxiety disorders and substance use. Collaborative models of care for patients with mental and behavioral disorders have been shown to improve clinical outcomes and are increasingly being integrated into medical settings. The rapid adoption of electronic medical records as the standard in most treatment settings continues to pose challenges for establishing and maintaining rapport in the clinician-patient relationship. Health care organizations are now compelled to pay greater attention to the importance of clinician well-being in reducing burnout and error and in maximizing the performance of the organization, including financial outcomes.

Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice Doody's Core Titles for 2022! Relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information - right at your fingertips The most effective interviewing techniques and approaches Important evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria Valuable information on psychiatry and the law, psychological testing, emergency psychiatry, evaluating infants, and more Helpful section on the principles of evaluating and diagnosing patients as well as treatment strategies NEW CHAPTERS on Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder, Opioid Use Disorders, Stimulant Use Disorders, Tobacco Use Disorder, Cannabis Use Disorders, and Gambling and Behavioral Addictions The definitive clinical overview of psychiatric care Designed in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT outline style Covers both adult and pediatric disorders Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches

This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.

AI IN CLINICAL MEDICINE An essential overview of the application of artificial intelligence in clinical medicine AI in Clinical Medicine: A Practical Guide for Healthcare Professionalsis the definitive reference book for the emerging and exciting use of AI throughout clinical medicine. AI in Clinical Medicine: A Practical Guide for Healthcare Professionals is divided into four sections. Section 1 provides readers with the basic vocabulary that they require, a framework for AI, and highlights the importance of robust AI training for physicians. Section 2 reviews foundational ideas and concepts, including the history of AI. Section 3 explores how AI is applied to specific disciplines. Section 4 describes emerging trends, and applications of AI in medicine in the future. Readers will find that this book: Describes where AI is currently being used to change practice, and provides successful cases of AI approaches in specific medical domains. Dives into the actual implementation of AI in the healthcare setting, and addresses reimbursement, workforce, and many other practical issues. Addresses some of the unique challenges associated with AI in clinical medicine including ethical issues, as well as regulatory and privacy concerns. Includes bulleted lists of learning objectives, key insights, clinical vignettes, brief examples of where AI is successfully deployed, and examples of potential problematic uses of AI and possible risks. From radiology, to pathology, dermatology, endoscopy, robotics, virtual reality, and more, AI in Clinical Medicine: A Practical Guide for Healthcare Professionals explores all recent state-of-the-art developments in the field. It is an essential resource for a general medical audience across all disciplines, from students to clinicians, academics to policy makers.

This reprint discussed the role of retinal and optic nerve imaging in addition to its application in ophthalmic diseases and clinical medicine. It includes some high-quality articles containing original research results as well as review articles of exceptional merit.

Elastography is a recent application of conventional ultrasound evaluation with recognized benefits in the field of malignancy risk assessment and disease evolution prediction. This book examines the use of this technique in non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), alcohol-induced liver disease, liver fibrosis, chronic hepatitis, portal hypertension, and hepatic tumors. It also discusses the use of elastography in the pediatric population for thyroid disease and hepatic, or musculoskeletal diseases. Nonabdominal elastography applications are also presented, such as in breast pathology, thyroid diffuse and nodular disease, renal chronic disease, parathyroid hyperplasia and chronic musculoskeletal impairment.

"Providing a solid foundation in clinical medicine for optometrists and optometry students, Clinical Medicine for Optometrists covers the systemic medical conditions that have serious impacts on ocular health and function, as well as the ocular exam findings that may be an early indication of significant systemic disease. This unique text explains important medical considerations for optometric practice, meeting the needs of clinical medicine courses in optometry programs, and also serving as a practical reference for optometrists in practice. Covers the core content required for board exams and the essential areas of medical knowledge needed for residency and in clinical practice. Presents comprehensive, practical content developed by lead author and internal medicine physician David Shein, MD, who has many years' experience teaching students at the New England College of Optometry, in conjunction with co-author Rachel C. Druckenbrod, OD, FAAO, a hospital-based optometrist who regularly mentors optometry students and residents in the clinical setting. Discusses medical conditions that have direct implications for ocular health, including diabetes, thyroid disease, hypertension, cerebrovascular accident, rheumatoid arthritis, Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, giant cell arteritis, and many more. Highlights critical ocular manifestations of systemic disease the optometrist should recognize in daily practice. Includes chapters on infectious diseases, HIV, diabetes, dermatology, neurology (with sections on headache and stroke), neuroimaging, atherosclerotic, vascular disease and cardiology (with sections on arrhythmias and drug therapy)"-- Provided by publisher.

Offers a guide for a complete understanding of the disease and conditions most frequently revealed in ECGs recorded in the acute, critical, and emergency care settings Electrocardiogram in Clinical Medicine offers an authoritative guide to ECG interpretation that contains a focus and perspective from each of the three primary areas of medical care: acute care, critical care and emergency care. It can be used as a companion with the book ECGs for the Emergency Physician I & II (by Mattu and Brady) or as a stand-alone text. These three books can be described as a cumulative EGG reference for the medical provider who uses the electrocardiogram on a regular basis.    Electrocardiogram in Clinical Medicine includes sections on all primary areas of ECG interpretation and application as well as sections that highlight use, devices and strategies. The medical content covers acute coronary syndromes and all related issues, other diseases of the myocardium, morphologic syndromes, toxicology and paediatrics; dysrhythmias will also be covered in detail. This important resource: *    Goes beyond pattern recognition in ECGs to offer a real understanding of the clinical syndromes evidenced in ECGs and implications for treatment *    Covers the indications, advantages and pitfalls of the use of ECGs for diagnosis in all acute care settings, from EMS to ED to Critical Care *    Examines the ECG in toxic, metabolic and environmental presentations; critical information for acute care clinicians who need to be able to differentiate ODs, poisoning and other environmental causes from MI or other cardiac events *    Facilitates clinical decision-making  Written for practicing ER, general medicine, family practice, hospitalist and ICU physicians and medical students, Electrocardiogram in Clinical Medicine is an important book for the accurate interpretation of EGG results.

When the domestic government, the private sector, and people in various professional fields talk about long-term care issues, they all focus on creating a warm and home-like care institution. However, we actively emphasize the importance of community-based long-term care. For “aging in place”, the development of domestic non-institutional care is still in its infancy, and some long-term care needs must still be met through institutional care, and the facilitation of the extension or outreach of community-based care and respite service platforms for the development of community-based long-term care still rely on institutional care. The history of the development of long-term care in Taiwan is much shorter than that of Japan, Europe, the United States, and Canada. Despite years of hard work and rapid development, the long-term care resources needed to establish a complete system in terms of universalization, fairness, accessibility, and selectivity are not available. In the future, based on the soundness of institutional care, it hoped that outreach will move toward the goals of community care and aging in place. We hope the studies in this Special Issue will help further develop clinical medicine for healthcare and stainability.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy A guide to conducting systematic reviews of test accuracy In Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy, a team of distinguished researchers deliver the official guide to preparing and maintaining systematic reviews of test accuracy in healthcare. This first edition of the Handbook contains guidance on understanding test accuracy measures, search strategies and study selection, understanding meta-analysis and risk of bias and applicability assessments, presentation of findings, and drawing conclusions. Readers will also find: An introduction to test evaluation, including the purposes of medical testing, test accuracy and the impact of tests on patient outcomes Comprehensive explorations of the design of test accuracy studies, including discussions of reference standards and comparative test accuracy studies Considerations of the methods and presentation of systematic reviews of test accuracy Elaboration of study selection, data collection, and undertaking risk of bias and applicability assessments Perfect for medical practitioners and clinicians, Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy will also benefit professionals in epidemiology and students in related fields.

The newly revised third edition of Evidence-Based Emergency Care: Diagnostic Testing and Clinical Decision Rules offers an updated review of the evidence and expert discussion of relevant issues in diagnostic testing in the everyday practice of emergency medicine. This book also provides a detailed overview of the science of diagnostic testing and reviews the process behind the development of clinical decision rules. The focus is asking and answering practical questions using original research studies, while commenting on the best available evidence for relevant clinical topics.

The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily.  Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. 

"Due to the remarkable concentration of various vital organs that can be visualized in thoracic imaging, the region occupies a firm central place in the spectrum of diagnostic imaging. The book is based on the contents of the curriculum for thoracic imaging of the European Society of Radiology and covers the gamut of issues in thoracic imaging that radiologists are faced with in their daily clinical practice. Contents are divided into four main sections: fundamentals of diagnostic thoracic imaging, diseases of the chest and special findings, differential diagnostic considerations and incidental findings, and glossary. Key Features: Full coverage of all disease entities as they affect the lungs, airways, pleura, mediastinum, thorax wall and diaphragm, thoracic arteries and veins, and the heart All imaging modalities are covered in detail: projection radiography, fluoroscopy, ultrasound, CT, and MRI, as well as digital image postprocessing Subsections concentrate on the more critical findings, such as pulmonary nodules and cavitary lesions Special section on occupational pulmonary diseases Congenital malformations of the thorax, and much more Diagnostic Imaging of the Chest is an essential reference guide for radiologists, both in training and in practice"-- Provided by publisher.

The acclaimed full-color guide to selecting the correct laboratory test and interpreting the results--covering ALL of clinical pathology A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2022!  Laboratory Medicine is the most comprehensive, user-friendly, and well-illustrated guide available for learning how to order the correct laboratory test and understand the clinical significance of the results. The book features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing.With new, increasingly expensive and complicated tests appearing almost daily, Laboratory Medicine, Third Edition is required reading for medical students, clinical laboratory scientists, and healthcare professionals who want to keep abreast of the latest testing procedures and maximize accuracy and patient safety.Features: 48 clinical laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations that include information on the expense and complexity of the assays More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms that encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding Full-color blood-smear micrographs that demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction  -- and new to this edition: chapter-ending self-assessment Q&A Logical systems-based organization that complements most textbooks Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values that show the conversions between U.S. and SI units for each value 

Improve and streamline the diagnostic decision-making process in emergency care The newly revised third edition of Evidence-Based Emergency Care: Diagnostic Testing and Clinical Decision Rules offers an updated review of the evidence and expert discussion of relevant issues in diagnostic testing in the everyday practice of emergency medicine. This book also provides a detailed overview of the science of diagnostic testing and reviews the process behind the development of clinical decision rules. The focus is asking and answering practical questions using original research studies, while commenting on the best available evidence for relevant clinical topics.

"Medical simulation has been a transformative force in medical education. Through the use of increasingly sophisticated technology, we are now able to simulate everything from yearly family doctor visits and simple procedures to complex operations such as heart surgery. Now more than ever, simulation is an essential tool for delivering the highest quality training, and it can be particularly valuable to physicians who teach in the acute care setting, where it is not always possible or practical to allow students to learn by working directly with patients. This book is written and designed specifically to guide medical educators in emergency medicine on how to integrate medical simulation into their teaching and achieve optimal results."-- Provided by publisher.

Based on the highly regarded Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management and part of the Manual of Emergency Medicine series envisioned by leading authority in emergency medicine, Dr. Ron M. Walls, Manual of Eye, Ear, Nose, and Throat Emergencies provides evidence-based, easy-to-read coverage of these commonly seen emergencies. Through the direction and expertise of lead editor Dr. Daniel J. Egan and associate editors Drs. Gareth M.C. Lema, Di (Fan) Coneybeare, and Marita S. Teng, this reference is a practical guide to approaching the patient with an EENT complaint in a systematic way, providing a hands-on framework for clinical decision making and therapeutic interventions.

"The idea of writing this book was born in early 2016; we knew that the road would be bumpy, yet exciting! We are thrilled to introduce the first edition of our manual to assist healthcare providers in managing our very unique patients with various hardware devices. These "hi-tech" devices help our patients breathe, walk, hear, and do a host of other essential activities of daily living. Importantly, when these patients seek emergency care due to device malfunction, infections, or other complications, it is crucial that the medical provider know how to manage both the patient, as well as the device"-- Provided by publisher.

"Wild Rescues is a fast-paced, firsthand glimpse into the exciting lives of paramedics who work with the National Park Service: a unique brand of park rangers who respond to medical and traumatic emergencies in some of the most isolated and rugged parts of America. In 2014, Kevin Grange left his job as a paramedic in Los Angeles to work in a response area with 2.2 million acres: Yellowstone National Park. Seeking a break from city life and urban EMS, he wanted to experience pure nature, fulfill his dream of working for the National Park Service, and take a crash-course in wilderness medicine. Grange's epic journey took him to Yellowstone, Yosemite, and Grand Teton National Parks where, among other calls, he battled to save the lives of a heart attack victim at Old Faithful, a hiker who'd fractured his skull below Yosemite Falls, and a snowmobiler who launched into a deep gorge in the shadow of the jagged Tetons. Grange was initially overwhelmed--and out of his element--providing patient care in an extreme environment with limited resources and a two-hour drive to the nearest hospital. But he came to enjoy the challenges and steep learning curve of wilderness medicine. Between calls, Grange reflects upon the democratic ideal of the National Park mission, the beauty of the land, and the many threats facing it. With visitation rising, budgets shrinking, and people loving our parks to death, he realized that--along with the health of his patients--he was also fighting for the life of "America's Best Idea."

"The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine—with 2,100 full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts Doody's Core Titles for 2021! The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your “look quick, act fast” guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct “need-to-know” information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls—making this the most efficient visual learning guide you’ll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics."--VitalSource

Exploring how to save primary care by giving family doctors a fighting chance to become the generalists we need in our lives, Searching for the Family Doctor is required reading for anyone interested in the troubled state of modern medicine.

An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care.

The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A  Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2022! "The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, Third Edition, will be an invaluable addition to busy physicians' clinical libraries. Its wide-ranging topics covering the gamut of family medicine are thoroughly covered and efficiently organized for point-of-care use. This, as well as its useful and exceptional photographs, will make it a resource the clinician will reach for again and again during evaluation of unfamiliar conditions. Residents and students will find it particularly useful as they systematically broaden their experiences and fund of knowledge--well done! "--Family Medicine

This is an open access book. Colorectal surgery is one of the most performed procedures in dedicated colorectal and general surgery units worldwide. In the last two decades, the minimally invasive laparoscopic approach has become very popular worldwide, attracting great interest among patients (lower risk of infection, less pain, and faster recovery) and demonstrating excellent oncological results. Technology is improving rapidly, offering revolutionary innovations, particularly with the advent of robotic surgery, which offers important advantages over laparoscopy for both surgeons and patients: improved ergonomics, wristed instruments, and a better vision. These advantages may be particularly useful for more complex and challenging situations (complete mesocolic excision, low rectal cancer, one-stage treatment of colorectal and liver metastases, etc.), translating into potential improved surgical and oncological results. Although several books have been published onthe subject, the great interest in robotic surgery makes it mandatory, in our opinion, to have a general update in view of the latest technical innovations and the results of the most relevant and recent literature. The book is divided into chapters dealing with the different colorectal segments with their robotic surgical operations and specific technical variants. The new frontiers of benign and emergency colorectal diseases are also considered, as well as the new robotic platforms recently introduced in the healthcare market. Some of them, such as the da Vinci SP single port device, may represent a revolutionary approach for this surgery. Training and cost aspects were also considered.

This open access book on thyroid surgery has been authored by an international team of contributors who present a comprehensive understanding of both benign and malignant thyroid disorders. It also outlines an interdisciplinary approach to their surgical management that reflects the latest changes in surgical techniques. The book reviews the most up-to-date literature available on thyroid surgery and presents it in a concise manner for use in clinical practice. For each thyroid disorder, the book covers etiology, clinical manifestations, diagnostic and localization procedures, as well as surgical and non-surgical treatment options. The operating techniques and postoperative management are explained in detail, while the benefits, risks, controversial issues, and cost-effectiveness of each approach are reviewed. To aid in the understanding of complex information, the book features drawings and photographs. Written in an easy-to-understand style, the book includes tables and diagrams that highlight best practices and current guidelines, as well as self-assessment material at the end of each section. It serves as an ideal resource for all levels of surgical experience, from a practical reference for endocrine surgeons to a perfect companion for students and residents.

This book provides a comprehensive overview of craniofacial surgery, which is an internationally recognized specialty experiencing tremendous advancements in materials, technology, instrumentation, and treatment methods. This book examines these advancements in detail. Chapters address such topics as regenerative materials in oral surgery, tissue induction in plastic and maxillo-facial surgery, the role of genetics, stem cells, and reconstructive surgery in craniofacial diseases and syndromes, diagnostic and surgical considerations in congenital craniofacial deformities, and assessment of psychological functioning among cleft lip palate patients.

This book presents and describes the various uses of gastric bypass in bariatric and metabolic surgery and outlines the different techniques currently available. Furthermore, the possible complications with the procedure and ways to avoid them are also discussed.  The use of the gastric bypass for the treatment of diabetes is emphasized and the new indications for the operative treatment of diabetes are featured in detail. Endoscopic uses concerning the gastric bypass are also addressed, covering preoperative evaluation, complications treatment, weight regain treatment and endoscopic treatment of obesity. The most advanced techniques and new technologies available for performing gastric bypass surgeries are presented in the most didactic possible way, making use of value-added learning features throughout the text. Gastric Bypass - Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery Perspectives is intended as a practical guide for all those interested and involved with bariatric surgery, including general surgeons, bariatric surgeons, GI surgeons and surgery residents.

"Textbook of Surgery is a core book for medical and surgical students providing a comprehensive overview of general and speciality surgery. Each topic is written by an expert in the field. The book focuses on the principles and techniques of surgical management of common diseases. Great emphasis is placed on problem-solving to guide students and junior doctors through their surgical training."--Provided by publisher

The landmark text that has served generations of obstetrician-gynecologists--fully updated with the most current perspectives of the field A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights. The culmination of a century of clinical thought, Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. The authors have enhanced this edition with 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of Maternal-Fetal Medicine. No other text matches the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach. New and updated content includes: Increased focus on Maternal-Fetal Medicine Greater coverage of hypertension and hemorrhage Deeper insights into in-utero complications Expanded fetal t section includes cutting-edge fetal imaging, genetics, prenatal diagnosis, and fetal disorders and therapy Basic science, physiology of labor, preterm labor updated with contemporaneous publications in the literature More obstetrical sonography figures Eye-catching illustrations, including updated graphs, sonograms, MRIs, photographs, and photomicrographs A Doody's Core Title for 2022! 

Hysterectomy is a common gynecological procedure. This book presents a comprehensive overview of this surgery, including a brief history of the procedure, the different techniques used, how to choose the appropriate method, and potential complications.

Empowering Midwives and Obstetric Nurses is a practical approach to understanding the health of women and newborns. It supports learning and prepares readers for the challenges faced in contemporary midwifery healthcare. Written by experts in the field, this book provides an overview, highlights important features, and brings to light certain contemporary issues pertaining to the science and art of midwifery.

This edited volume is a collection of reviewed and relevant research chapters, offering a comprehensive overview of recent developments in the field of medicine. The book comprises single chapters authored by various researchers and edited by an expert active in the medical research area. All chapters are complete in itself but united under a common research study topic. This publication aims at providing a thorough overview of the latest research efforts by international authors on maternal and child health matters around the world, and open new possible research paths for further novel developments.

"Mount Sinai Expert Guides: Obstetrics and Gynecology provides specialty trainees and junior physicians with an extremely clinical, affordable and accessible handbook covering the key and hot topics in this complex field with focus throughout on clinical diagnosis and effective patient management.  Used as a point-of-care resource in the hospital and clinical setting, it present sthe very best in expert information in an attractive, quick and easy to navigate informative and well-structured manner, with features such as key points, potential pitfalls, management algorithms, and national/international guidelines on treatment."--Provided by the publisher

The only gynecological text of its kind--this combined medical reference and surgical procedural atlas gets you fully up to date on everything you need to know A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2022! Illustrated cover to cover, Williams Gynecology delivers comprehensive, evidence-based coverage of the full spectrum of gynecologic healthcare and disease management--from benign general gynecology to reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and menopause to female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery to gynecologic oncology. Hundreds of original drawings compliment the text.  Every chapter of this authoritative guide offers a practical template enabling you to approach every diagnosis and treatment consistently and accurately--while treatment algorithms, differential diagnosis boxes, and other features make finding the right answers quick and easy. The Aspects of Gynecologic Surgery and Atlas of Gynecologic Surgery section covers benign gynecologic conditions, minimally invasive surgery, surgeries for female pelvic reconstruction, and surgeries for gynecologic malignancies. NEW content on minimally invasive procedures, benign gynecology, urogynecology, gynecologic oncology, and reproductive endocrinology 450+ full-color figures depicting operative techniques Illustrated gynecologic anatomy chapter--invaluable for surgeons Covers a wide range of surgical operations--each one illustrated in painstaking detail A cost-effective option to purchasing two separate textbooks

A Simulation-Based Guide Using SAS In A Practical Approach to Quantitative Validation of Patient-Reported Outcomes, two distinguished researchers, with 50 years of collective research experience and hundreds of publications on patient-centered research, deliver a detailed and comprehensive exposition on the critical steps required for quantitative validation of patient-reported outcomes (PROs). The book provides an incisive and instructional explanation and discussion on major aspects of psychometric validation methodology on PROs, especially relevant for medical applications sponsored by the pharmaceutical industry, where SAS is the primary software, and evaluated in regulatory and other healthcare environments. Central topics include test-retest reliability, exploratory and confirmatory factor analyses, construct and criterion validity, responsiveness and sensitivity, interpretation of PRO scores and findings, and meaningful within-patient change and clinical important difference. The authors provide step-by-step guidance while walking readers through how to structure data prior to a PRO analysis and demonstrate how to implement analyses with simulated examples grounded in real-life scenarios.

The Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE), in partnership with other agencies and divisions of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, coordinates a portfolio of projects that build data capacity for conducting patient-centered outcomes research (PCOR). PCOR focuses on producing scientific evidence on the effectiveness of prevention and treatment options to inform the health care decisions of patients, families, and health care providers, taking into consideration the preferences, values, and questions patients face when making health care choices.ASPE asked the National Academies to appoint a consensus study committee to identify issues critical to the continued development of the data infrastructure for PCOR. Building Data Capacity for Patient-Centered Outcomes Research contains findings and conclusions in the areas that could benefit from being prioritized as part of ASPE's work, and offers input on strengthening the overall framework for building the data infrastructure over the coming years. The committee authoring this report also issued three interim reports, which summarized discussions from three workshops, and are included as appendices in the final report.

The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases  A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023!  Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. *  Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations*  Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam*  Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy*  Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology *  Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine. 

"This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine A Doody's Core Titles for 2023!   Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy.   Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified.  As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted.   Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.  

The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2022!  Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: Patient Education Motivating for behavior change Breaking bad news Managing different personality types Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice Nonverbal communication Using computers in the exam room Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention.If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.

Significantly revised and updated, the second edition of this popular quick reference guide provides information and advice on 190 areas of current pediatric care, everything from abdominal pain and ADHD, to headache and herpes infections, to weight loss and wheezing. This indispensable resource delivers practical, action-oriented clinical solutions for healthcare professionals to use during or between patient encounters. Authoritative content is presented in a concise outline format that helps speed and simplify decision-making. Regardless of the patient presentation you're confronted with, you'll have quick access to the help you need to Efficiently evaluate signs and symptoms. Order the right screening/diagnostic tests. Implement approved therapeutic strategies. Prescribe safe and effective medications Recommend proven prevention measures. Confidently respond to parent questions. 35 new chapters including Anxiety Ataxia Coagulation disorders Cyanosis Drug interactions and adverse effects Fetal alcohol syndrome Fragile X syndrome Hemangiomas Hypocalcemia, hypercalcemia, and hypercalciuria Inflammatory bowel disease Klinefelter syndrome Learning disorders Metabolic disorders beyond the newborn period Munchausen syndrome by proxy: medical child abuse Pancreatitis Papulosquamous disease Pierre-Robin syndrome Prader-Willi syndrome Symptoms of emotional disturbance in young children (Birth to 5 Years) Turner syndrome and Noonan syndrome And more.

A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 200 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition:

This collection is intended to optimize the medical education and practical teaching techniques to improve clinical observation, feedback, assessment, and evaluation. This collection is applicable to the busy preceptor in a variety of settings-rural or regional or urban practice, community hospital, or academic center. This collection guides Pediatric clinical teachers on fostering humanism in pediatrics, developing non-cognitive skills in a supportive learning environment; setting expectations and building highly effective teams; empowering learners; understanding and implementing Entrustable Professional Activities from the Association of American Medical Colleges; optimizing SUPERmodeling; bedside teaching and patient encounters with exam room as classroom; shared decision making; promoting clinical reasoning and reflection; and fostering medical professionalism. -- Provided by publisher.

The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide.   More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient.   New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.    

Pediatric Coding Basics was developed for pediatric health care professionals who are new to coding or have taken on additional coding responsibilities in their practice. This new resource begins with an overview of medical coding, followed by a more detailed review of the different types of codes commonly used in pediatrics. The book then discusses how to effectively use the different types of codes together for billing purposes. Each chapter includes Coding Challenge questions to reinforce key content. Users can earn a certificate of completion upon successfully passing an online quiz.

This book, authored by Serge Kirkiacharian and Julien Dumond, focuses on the interaction between enzymes and drugs, providing a comprehensive overview of the biochemical and pharmacological aspects. It delves into enzyme kinetics, inhibition, activation, and the role of enzymes in targeting viral, microbial, and human diseases. The book examines viral targets like HIV protease and reverse transcriptase, bacterial targets related to Mycobacterium tuberculosis, and strategies for enzyme replacement therapy in various human diseases. Aimed at researchers and students in biochemistry and pharmacology, it explores both existing and novel therapeutic targets, offering insights into drug design and disease treatment strategies. The authors aim to enhance understanding of enzyme-related drug mechanisms and therapeutic applications.

The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text--updated with new content and USMLE-style questions A Doody's Core Title for 2024! Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more. Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Sixteenth Edition features: 330 full-color illustrations 100 drug tables 50 USMLE-style questions Chapter on cannabinoids A strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes Case studies and chapter-ending summary tables Organization that reflects the syllabi of pharmacology courses Descriptions of important new drugs

"This book discusses how to conduct pharmaceutical research and the context for how the industry fits into global healthcare. Holistically, the well-qualified author helps readers and students of drug development appreciate the time and expense of the process. Specifically, the work identifies the emerging trends shaping the future of drug development, along with important related topics like generic drugs, data sharing, and collaboration. To aid in seamless reader comprehension, the book includes a glossary of terms and a self-assessment quiz for each chapter at the end. PowerPoint slides are also available as an online ancillary for adopting professors"-- Provided by publisher.

The landmark pharmacology reference--updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice. Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features: Five NEW chapters on: -Pharmacovigilance -The blood-brain barrier -Cannabis -Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents -Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response  Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action 600+ color illustrations Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions 53 NEW contributors NEW online updates

As healthcare delivery moves from a provider-centric approach to a more patient-centric approach, systems and payers need to reimagine how care and team-based care is delivered to patients and reimbursed. Thus, the goal should be to see the right patient, by the right provider, in the right place, for the right price, and where appropriate, with the use of the right pharmaceutical(s) – “5 P’s”. There continues to be a reduction in physicians that are pursuing primary care roles in the United States, thus exacerbating the ability to meet patient demand. Most patient encounters begin with or end with the prescribing of medication. Thus, a future where pharmacists are embedded in primary care settings allows these pharmacists to collaborate at the point-of-prescribing (i.e., in-clinic) and provides tremendous benefits to providers and patients. The pharmacist workforce is educated at the doctoral level, yet vastly underutilized and can assist in a collaborative approach in primary care. The collection of articles in the Special Issue “Embedded Pharmacists in Primary Care” highlight examples of models that have included pharmacists in the ambulatory setting providing services in chronic disease management, comprehensive medication management, and care of specific conditions such as diabetes.

In the last decade, pharmacoepidemiology has emerged as an important field to study the use/effects of drugs in large populations in real life, allowing for improved benefits and effectiveness of drugs as well as a decline in drug-related risks. The correct assessment, reporting, monitoring, and prevention of adverse events in drugs’ development, as well as therapy and post-market surveillance, is essential to improve clinical therapies and health outcomes. This book provides a comprehensive and unique overview of the relevance, new insights, and recent findings of pharmacoepidemiology and drug safety in public health.

Behavioral pharmacology studies the biological bases of behavior and the pharmacological effects of natural or synthetic drugs through behavioral analysis, with the identification of substances that could contribute to improvement of the quality of life for humans. Through behavioral pharmacology, it is possible to generate knowledge about pharmacological bases that influence the normal or altered behavior from a multidisciplinary point of view, and which includes diverse areas of science. The purpose of this book "Behavioral Pharmacology- From Basic to Clinical Research" is to show some of the advances in the identification of pharmacological properties of natural and synthetic molecules that may be used in the development of pharmacological therapies destined for the treatment of illness and disorders that affect the wellness of humans.

This eBook is a collection of articles from a Frontiers Research Topic. Frontiers Research Topics are very popular trademarks of the Frontiers Journals Series: they are collections of at least ten articles, all centered on a particular subject. With their unique mix of varied contributions from Original Research to Review Articles, Frontiers Research Topics unify the most influential researchers, the latest key findings and historical advances in a hot research area!