Finding Company Information, SWOT Analyses, and Market Research Information
The following tutorials will show you how to use library databases to find specific types of business information.
Find Company Information
Find Company information using the databases Business Source Complete, Lexis Nexis Academic, or Mergent Online.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Business Source Elite provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, and investment research reports.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- To find company information in Business Source Complete, Click on the "Company Information" option at the top of the page.
- Enter the company name or ticker symbol and click "Search."
- Click on the company name to view the full information record.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel.
- To find company information in Mergent Online, type the company name or ticker symbol into the search box and click "Go."
- To search for a private company, you must first check the "D&B Private Company Database" box above the search box.
- Click on the company name to view the full company information record.
SWOT Analysis
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Business Source Elite provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, and investment research reports.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Business Source Complete to find SWOT analyses of major companies.
A SWOT analysis is used to evaluate a company's and programs' strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. With a SWOT you can evaluate the current state of the company and the possibilities for the future.
- In Business Source Complete, search for a company by name or ticker symbol.
- In the "Refine Results" panel on the left side of the page, click on "Source Types" and select "SWOT Analysis." If you do not see "SWOT Analysis" immediately, click on "Show More," select "SWOT Analysis" and click "Update."
- To find the most recent SWOT Analysis, change the sorting option from "Relevance" to "Date Newest."
- To view the full SWOT Analysis, click on the "PDF Full Text" link.
Use Business Source Complete to find SWOT analyses of major companies.
- Open the database, and click on "Companies" to see a variety of reports.
- Click on SWOT Reports and search the company you are looking for.
