It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All of the journals listed to your right are found within Rebecca Crown Library's collection of databases. A strategy for broader results would be to search the entire database, there you will find items from the bioethics specific journals as well as much more. Try some keywords and phrases in the databases below!
Academic Search Complete is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
The African American Experience is an authoritative research tool for African American history and culture, providing information from contributors who are experts in the field,. This vast and accessible database covers history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes. Contains primary documents, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other documentation from 1492 to the present.
The Oxford African American Studies Center is the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. The center ncludes articles from Oxford University Press reference sources, primary sources, images, maps, charts & tables, multimedia, timelines, and biographies.
Proquest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a online collection of over 500 major academic research journals covering topics in the arts, humanities, business, and social sciences. JSTOR is always scholarly. Dominican University has access to the following collections:
Arts and Sciences I, II, III, and IV.
A Streaming video collection covering the wide range of topics essential to the study of sociology. From poverty, gender inequality, and social justice to crime, prejudice, globalization, and so much more, key subjects in sociology are explored by in-depth documentaries and curriculum-focused instructional videos.
The Berkeley Journal of African-American Law & Policy (BJALP) is dedicated to addressing legal and policy issues that affect African-American communities and people of color, in general. BJALP publishes work on such matters as constitutional law, criminal justice, civil rights, political representation and participation, fair housing, economic development, immigration, health issues and welfare, and other issues affecting the African Diaspora. BJALP welcomes all relevant submissions, including scholarly articles, student-authored notes and comments, book reviews, and essays.
Black American Literature Forum is a scholarly aggregation of essays on African-American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews. The journal has featured writers and cultural critics including Trudier Harris, Arnold Rampersad, Hortense Spillers, Amiri Baraka, Cyrus Cassells, Rita Dove, Charles Johnson, Cheryl Wall, and Toni Morrison. It is the official publication of the Modern Language Association's LLC African American.
Black Issues Book Review was founded in 1998 by William E. Cox, Adrienne Ingrum, and Susan McHenry. The first issue featured Octavia Butler on the cover and was published in January of 1999. The final issue was the September/October of 2007 and featured Edwidge Danticat.
**Now under the title Diverse: Issues in Higher Education** Our mission is to provide our audience information that is honest, thorough and balanced. Diverse seeks to be a catalyst for change, and our ultimate objective is to contribute to the building of educational, cultural, social and economic structures that will allow every individual to achieve his or her full human potential and contribute to the greater good of the community and the nation.
Begun in 1980, Black Music Research Journal is published in the spring and fall of each year and includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music. BMRJ is an official journal of the Center for Black Music Research and is available by subscription and as a benefit of membership with CBMR.
The Harvard Journal of African American Policy is the second-oldest, student-run review published annually by the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Created as an effort to promote, discuss and disseminate perspectives affecting communities of color, our mission is to educate and empower in order to improve the quality of public policies affecting the African American community specifically and the African diaspora at-large. We believe policy is best achieved when it is properly – and holistically – informed. Thus, we seek to expand the conversation to offer compelling analysis and insight that is reflective of our varied perspectives and influential through its reach. In so doing, we hope to further the economic, social, and political empowerment of African Americans.
Founded in 1916 as The Journal of Negro History by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, The Journal of African American History (JAAH) is the leading scholarly publication in the field of African American history. Published by the University of Chicago Press on behalf of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), JAAH publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the African American experience. JAAH embraces ASALH’s mission of promoting, researching, preserving, interpreting, and disseminating “information about Black life, history, and culture to the global community.” Numerous articles published in JAAH have been widely cited and circulated, won awards, and/or broadly reprinted. While each issue covers various dimensions of the African American historical experience, JAAH also publishes special issues, symposia, and roundtable forums on cutting edge themes and topics within the field.
Serves as a multidisciplinary forum for social scientists engaged in the analysis of the struggles and triumphs of black males. Challenges stereotypes and identifies strategies and policies that can counter the problems black men face.
The Journal of African American Males in Education (JAAME). JAAME is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing scholarship and practice on African American males in education. JAAME publishes research on African American males throughout the educational pipeline (P-20), in various contexts (e.g., urban, suburban, rural), and in multiple capacities (e.g., students, teachers, faculty, staff, administrators). JAAME features articles that: 1) are grounded in research, theory and experiential knowledge; 2) promote critical examination of issues facing African American males in education; and 3) provide concrete recommendations for policy and practice. JAAME is published online.
Journal of African American Studies examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora. It publishes original research on issues of professional and disciplinary concern for the social progress of people of African descent. The journal features empirical, methodological, and theoretical papers as well as literary criticism. It covers the full spectrum of this interdisciplinary field, containing diverse methods and perspectives that include anthropology, art, economics, law, literature, management science, political science, psychology, sociology, social policy research, and others.
Journal of Black Psychology (JBP) presents the most innovative peer-reviewed, empirical, theoretical, and methodological research on the behavior and experiences of Black and other populations from Black or Afrocentric perspectives. The journal offers complete and balanced coverage of the latest advances through original articles and special features such as Research Briefs, Essays, Commentary, and Media Reviews.
Journal of Black Studies (JBS), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for the last third of a century has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, JBS offers important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans.
Review of Black Political Economy (RBPE), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is the leading outlet for research that examines issues related to the economic status of African-Americans, the African diaspora throughout the world. RBPE promotes scholarship on economic inequality and provides a viable forum where scholars can express their views on matters of public policy relevant to the economic well-being of marginalized populations. RBPE is a publication of the National Economic Association (NEA). The NEA stands in solidarity with those who are protesting anti-Black racism and its manifest violence against the Black community. This journal is a member of COPE.
Since 1977, The Western Journal of Black Studies (WJBS) has been a leading interdisciplinary journal that is devoted to publishing scholarly articles, from a wide range of disciplines that focus mainly on the experience of African Americans in the United States of America. The journal publishes articles that, as its name implies, report original investigations and contribute new knowledge and understanding to the field of Black/African American Studies. Theoretical articles and works concerning the African diaspora are welcome if whenever possible they include data research and implications for applicability. All manuscripts are selected by blind peer review.
The Black History Bulletin is dedicated to enhancing teaching and learning in the areas of history. Its aim is to publish, generate, and disseminate peer-reviewed information about African Americans in U. S. history, the African Diaspora generally, and the peoples of Africa. Its purpose is to inform the knowledge base for the professional praxis of secondary educators through articles that are grounded in theory, yet supported by practice. The Black History Bulletin welcomes articles on all aspects of Black history, especially those written with a focus on:
(1) middle school U.S. history; (2) high school U.S. history; (3) teacher preparation U.S. history methods.
Founded in the San Francisco Bay Area in 1969 by Robert Chrisman and Nathan Hare, THE BLACK SCHOLAR (TBS) is the first journal of Black studies and research. TBS is the first modern Black studies and research journal and is currently the leading such journal in the United States. Founded on the premise that Black writers, scholars, activists and artists could participate in dialogue within its pages, TBS‘s primary mission has been to chronicle, analyze, and debate the conditions and the emancipatory efforts of Black people, across class, nationality, gender, generation, sexuality, and ideology. Due in part to the impact of the journal, Black Studies, Africana Studies, Diaspora Studies, and other subdisciplines have become legitimate spaces of scholarly inquiry. However, there are still few public intellectual spaces that are dedicated to the new multiplicity of Black perspectives (or perspectives on race) that have emerged through these disciplines and that engage with the new issues and concerns facing Black communities worldwide. THE BLACK SCHOLAR is one of those spaces. Our rich mix of the scholarly and the artistic, the professional and the public/non-specialist, remains rare, as is our openness to different forms and techniques of political engagement.