Skip to Main Content

Directory: Home


The Rebecca Crown Library (RCL) is an integral part of the culture and community of Dominican University. Its mission is in harmony with the Dominican University Mission: to pursue truth, give compassionate service, and contribute to a more just and humane world. The mission of the Rebecca Crown Library mandates the academic support of students, faculty, and staff for resources and services. In addition to supplying print and electronic materials, services such as reference, circulation, interlibrary loan and instruction provide means through which the Dominican University Mission may be realized.


Acquisitions (708) 524-6882
Archives (708) 524-5929
Circulation (708) 524-6876
Government Docs (708) 524-6872
Innovation Lab (708) 524-6505
Interlibrary Loan (708) 524-6877
Periodicals (708) 524-6882
Recording Studio (708) 524-6500
Reference (708) 524-6875
Reserves (708) 524-6877


Faculty Librarians and Staff

David Banas Weekend Circulation Coordinator  (708) 524-6876
Ben De Biasio, LBS1, MLIS Community Learning & Outreach Librarian (708) 524-6870
Zach Claybaugh MA, MS LIS Access & Reference Services Librarian (708) 524-6874
Gabrielle Frigo Evening Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6881
Megan Hoppe Part-Time Instruction Librarian (708) 524-6884
Cathy Geers, MA, MLIS Part-Time Reference Librarian (708) 524-6875
Rebekkah LaRue, MLIS Technical Services Librarian (708) 524-6872 
Allison Liesz, MLIS Technical Services Coordinator (708) 524-6882
Julia Burns Petrella, MLIS Part-Time Instruction Librarian (708) 524-6884 
Ricardo Rodriguez, MLIS Circulation Coordinator (708) 524-6877
Marie-Louise Settem Library Operations Coordinator (708) 524-6880
Phil Skurski, MLIS User Experience Librarian (708) 524-6880
Steven Szegedi, MLIS Archivist & Special Collections Librarian (708) 524-5929
Jingfeng Xia, MLIS PhD University Librarian (708) 524-6602


Dominican University's first library, containing the collections brought from St. Clara College in Sinsinawa, was located in what is now the Phyllis Skiffington Noonan Reading Room on the second floor of Lewis Hall.  Sister Mary Reparata Murray, who established the School of Library Science in 1930, was the first librarian.

The current Library, named after Rebecca Kranz Crown, the wife of Colonel Henry Crown, Chicago philanthropist, and the library's principal benefactor, opened in 1972. Major renovations, which created the light, open spaces one sees today, were completed in 2002.